Species and Protected Areas | WWF
© Frans Schepers/WWF Zambia

Species and Protected Areas

African elephant

Species and Protected Areas

Species conservation work predominantly focuses on wildlife. However, it also includes forest, bird and other plant species such as Zambezi teak (Baikiaea plurijuga), Shoebill, Devil’s claw and orchids.

 rel= © Frans Schepers/WWF Zambia

Zambia’s wildlife is protected and regulated by the Zambia Wildlife Act of 1998 which established the Zambia Wildlife Authority (ZAWA) as a statutory body mandated to manage and protect wildlife populations in Zambia.

WWF Zambia collaborates with ZAWA to address various challenges and threats facing the wildlife sector in Zambia such as poaching, illegal wildlife trade and human wildlife conflicts.

Zambia’s biodiversity is managed mainly within a network of three types of protected areas. The first consists of 19 national parks, 39 Game Management Area (GMAs) and 8 Ramsar sites which are administered by the Zambia Wildlife Authority (ZAWA). The second type consists of national heritage sites that are managed by the National Heritage Conservation Commission (NHCC) while the third type comprises the forest reserves which are over 450 and managed by the Forestry Department. There are also a significant number of game ranches scattered across the country managed by private land owners.

Partners for Wildlife and Protected Areas
  • Zambia Wildlife Authority (ZAWA)
  • Forest Department
  • National Heritage Conservation Commission (NHCC)
  • Ministry of Lands, Environment and Natural Resources
  • Zambia Environmental Management Agency (ZEMA)
  • African Parks Network
  • Zambia Carnivores Project
  • Peace Parks Foundation (Fundraising partner)
  • NORAD (Funding partner)
  • WWF Norway (Funding partner)
  • WWF Netherlands (Funding partner)
Species and Protected Areas Brochure