The Alpine Convention | WWF
With the 1991 Alpine Convention the eight Alpine States and European Union have committed themselves to the protection of the Alpine region.

The Convention of the Protection of the Alps - the Alpine Convention - sets measures for the sustainable development of the Alpine region, promotes cooperation between Alpine countries, and enhances awareness among the peoples of the Alps. The convention entered into force in 1995.

In the protocols of the convention, concrete actions have been identified for ten thematic areas. Unfortunately, until now only Austria, France, Germany,  Liechtenstein, and Slovenia ratified all ten protocols.

WWF supports the treaty as the most far-reaching concept to date for the sustainable development of the Alpine region. WWF's Ecoregion Conservation Plan (ECP) will make an important contribution to the Alpine Convention.