Archive Content

Please note: This page has been archived and its content may no longer be up-to-date. This version of the page will remain live for reference purposes as we work to update the content across our website.

© WWF Malaysia / Nina Ho
Coral Triangle Day

What is the Coral Triangle Day?

The Coral Triangle Day (held every June 9) is a massive celebration of the Coral Triangle, the world's epicentre of marine biodiversity, which encompasses the seas of 6 countries in the Asia-Pacific region: Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Solomon Islands, and Timor Leste.

This celebration is not exclusive to these six nations though and includes other countries that benefit from the Coral Triangle’s rich marine resources.

The event is celebrated in several locations around the Coral Triangle region through numerous activities including but not limited to: beach clean-ups; sustainable seafood dinners and exhibitions; bazaars; and beach parties, among others—all carrying the message of ocean conservation under the overall banner of "shared waters, shared solutions".

The Coral Triangle Day is an annual, open-sourced event that brings together individuals, organizations, and establishments on one special day of the year to shed light on ocean conservation and the numerous ways to protect and conserve the Coral Triangle.

The Coral Triangle

The Coral Triangle, the world's epicentre of marine diversity, is one of the 3 mega ecological complexes on our planet, together with the Congo Basin and the Amazon Rainforest.

It is a vast ocean expanse that geographically spreads across 6 countries in Asia and the Pacific: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and Timor Leste (the "CT6" countries).

Every June 9 we celebrate the Coral Triangle Day


Check out the Coral Triangle Day's website