Archive Content

Please note: This page has been archived and its content may no longer be up-to-date. This version of the page will remain live for reference purposes as we work to update the content across our website.

Bandar Seri Begawan Joint Statement of
The Special Ministerial Meeting on the Heart of Borneo Initiative
7 September 2013, Brunei Darussalam

On this auspicious occasion of 'The Special Ministerial Meeting on the Heart of Borneo Initiative’ held in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam on 7th September 2013, We, the Ministers responsible for the Heart of Borneo Initiative
1. Reaffirm our joint commitment to materialize the Heart of Borneo Vision - ‘Three Countries, One Conservation Vision’ and Declaration on the Heart of Borneo Initiative’ signed on the 12th February 2007 in Bali, Indonesia; 
2. Acknowledge  and  commend  the 5-year  progressive achievements of the three countries under the Heart of Borneo Initiative as  well as other national initiatives towards effective management  strategies of forestry and biodiversity conservation; 
3. Enhance collaboration between the three countries to implement  joint programs and activities while ensuring synergies to complement the existing regional and international agenda such as climate change, biodiversity conservation, food, energy and water security, and poverty alleviation; 
4. Encourage green economy and promote capacity and technological
development through various endeavours such as Public Private Partnership (PPP), to strengthen trans-boundary cooperation on a multisectoral basis towards achieving sustainable development within the Heart of Borneo;

5. Welcome the assistance of international and regional organizations as well as dialogue partners and appreciate the involvement of relevant stakeholders in the conservation activities under the Heart of Borneo Initiative; 
6. Reiterate our support to forest relevant processes and frameworks including the United Nations Forum on Forests (UNFF), United  Nations Convention on Biological Diversity (UNCBD) and United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and other   related international multilateral environmental agreements; and
7. Hereby reaffirm:
(a) The development of practical programmes, policy and financing solutions to meet the goals of conservation and demands of sustainable economic development based on 5 pillars: trans-boundary cooperation, protected areas, sustainable natural resource management, ecotourism development and capacity building; and
(b) To create enabling conditions in the Heart of Borneo needed to realize an inclusive and balanced development.
List of Ministers: 
1.  The Honourable Pehin Dato Yahya, Minister of Industry and Primary Resources, Brunei Darussalam
2.  The  Honourable  Dr.  (HC)  Zulkifli  Hasan,  Minister  of  Forestry,  Republic  of Indonesia
3.  The  Honourable  Dato  Dr  James  Dawos  Mamit,  Deputy  Minister  of  Natural Resources and Environment, Malaysia