Zimbabwe | WWF
© Candice Bate WWF-Zimbabwe


Elephant, Zimbabwe


 rel= © Candice Bate WWF-Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe is a land locked country in Southern Africa and has a total surface area of 391 000 km2. About 75% of the country is semi-arid, with low and sporadic rainfall, which makes it prone to unpredictable droughts. Land use varies from intensive cropping to extensive cattle ranching, subsistence and small scale agriculture, wildlife production; and mineral extraction. Approximately 60% of the country’s 12.9 million people live in rural areas.

It is nested within four major river systems-namely Zambezi in the north, Limpopo in the south, Save in the south east, and Shashe in the south west. About 49% of the total land area is under forests and woodlands while 27% is cultivated. The former contains a wide range of fauna and flora that includes 4 440 species of plants, 270 mammals, and 532 bird species. Biodiversity is found in all the country’s land categories-namely state, communal and private lands.

The country's ecosystems are formally protected under six categories of protected areas as follows: 11 national parks, 6 gazetted forests, 14 botanical reserves, 3 botanical gardens, 16 safari areas and 15 recreational parks and sanctuaries. National parks and gazetted forests constitute 13% and 3% of the country’s land area respectively.

Zimbabwe is globally renowned for its past visionary approach to natural resource management. It was the first African country to develop a noticeable alternative approach to the management of natural resources outside protected areas in 1975. This resulted in a proliferation of private game reserves and conservancies that occupied 10% of the country by 2000.

In terms of WWF Flagship species, the country has the second largest elephant population and third largest rhino herd in Southern Africa (excluding South Africa). Furthermore, the country holds significant tracts of the African teak (Baikiaea plurijuga), a WWF footprint impacted species which is critical in the country’s hardwood timber industry.
Three of the country’s major national parks lie across international boundaries and are part of the Trans-frontier Conservation Areas (TFCAs). They are Hwange National Park in the Kavango Zambezi (KAZA) TFCA; Mana Pools National Park in the Mid Zambezi TFCA; and Gonarezhou National Park in the Greater Limpopo TFCA.  KAZA is arguably the largest TFCA in the world involving Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe; and embracing 36 protected areas that include national parks, game reserves, community conservancies and game management areas. 


	© Candice Bate WWF-Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe is home to Victoria Falls one of the seven natural wonders of the world

WWF-Zimbabwe Country Office

10 Lanark Road 
Tel: +263-4-252533/34
Fax: +263-4-703902
Email: wwfzimbabwe@wwf.org.zw

	© Candice Bate

Lion drinking at a water hole in one of Zimbabwe's protected areas

External News

12 Dec 2019

Speaking at the ceremony that was attended by various marine and fisheries stake holders the Deputy Minister thanked WWF for its long time outstanding conservation leadership and technical support ...

11 Dec 2019

"We are happy,  we are now starting to manage mangroves ourselves, and we are ready to protect  and use them more sustainably.  In recent years, our forest cover has degraded  due ...

11 Dec 2019

«Nous  sommes heureux, nous commençons à gérer nous-même maintenant les mangroves, et nous sommes prêts à les protéger et à les utiliser plus ...

09 Dec 2019

This framework convention was adopted at the Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro in 1992 and entered into force in 1994. Madagascar is a signatory to this convention. From Monday to December 13, the 25th ...

09 Dec 2019

Cette convention-cadre a été adoptée au Sommet de la Terre de Rio de Janeiro en 1992 et est entrée en vigueur en 1994. Madagascar est signataire de cette convention. Depuis lundi ...

Sign up for email updates