The eastern Africa acacia savanna covers about 572,000 km2 across Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Sudan and Ethiopia. Most of the area under this acacia savanna is under government or licensed private-sector protection – national parks, national reserves or game reserves, conservation areas, game controlled areas and World Heritage Sites.
The area supports one of the richest collections of wildlife in the world. For example, the Mara-Serengeti ecosystem that covers an area of 25,000 km2 is the home of one of the world’s most spectacular biological events, the annual wildebeest migration.

Within this geographic space there are three terrestrial ecoregions - the Serengeti Volcanic grasslands, the Southern Acacia-Commiphora bushland, and the Northern Acacia-Commiphora bushland. The Serengeti Volcanic grasslands and Acacia-Commiphora bushland are “globally outstanding” and cover areas of about 18,000 km2 and 228,000 km2, respectively. The Southern Acacia-Commiphora bushland, covering an area of about 326,000 km2, is considered “regionally outstanding” and relatively stable, since most of it falls under some form of protected regime.

WWF-EARPO’s species work covers selected species and their habitats that are of particular conservation concern. In eastern Africa, WWF’s flagship species include the black rhino, African elephant, marine turtles and great apes.

Turtle conservation is addressed by the Eastern African Marine Ecoregion Programme and the great apes by the Albertine Rift Montane Forests Ecoregion Programme. The savanna ecosystem work focuses on the black rhino, the African elephant and their habitats.