Farmer of the Year | WWF
© Ola Jennersten

Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year

WWF is delighted to announce the search for Baltic friendly farmers for the Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award 2019
The importance of sustainable agriculture to reduce the threat of eutrophication of the Baltic Sea cannot be underestimated. Farmers around the Baltic Sea  play a crucial role if we want to change the current situation. With the WWF Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award – we want to inspire farmers in the entire Baltic Sea region to take an active part in combating eutrophication.

The WWF Baltic Sea Farmer of the Year Award was launched in 2009 to highlight best practices and recognize farmers who are leading the way to reduce nutrient runoff on their farms. Applications are received from farmers from countries within the Baltic Sea catchment who are practicing both organic and conventional farming, as well as many different types of agriculture. The national winners, chosen by juries in each country, receive a prize of 1,000 Euros. From these national winners, an international jury selects a regional winner who receives a grand prize of 10,000 Euros.
So far, around 60 farmers around the Baltic Sea have been awarded for their innovative measures and we are now looking for farmers to join the family!

Please read more about the winners of 2019 in our brochure, which you can find here and download the nomination form!


The regional winner of 2018, Krzysztof Kowalski, isa conventional pig and crop farmer from Poland. The jury was impressed by the wide range of measures Krzysztof employs to reduce nutrient leakage, as well as by his holistic approach to sustainable farming. Besides applying fertilizers in a careful and well-timed manner, he practices crop rotation and has created nine midfield wetlands and various buffer zones. Last year, Krzysztof and his family additionally planted 1,080 trees along the river and between the fields to helps prevent runoff while also creating habitats for wild animals.

Previous regional winners:

Katariina Vapola and Jyrki Ankelo from Finland (2009), Håkan and Teri Lee Eriksson from Sweden (2010), Marian Rak from Poland (2011), Juhan Särgava from Estonia (2013), Juris Cirulis and Vija Cirule from Latvia (2014) and Minna Sakki-Eerola and Markus Eerola from Finland (2015).


a. Nominee(s) must have undertaken concrete measures to reduce nutrient emissions from their farm. Nutrient emissions include both nutrient leaching to water and gaseous losses as ammonia emissions from manure.

b. Nominee(s) cannot have any problems with fulfilling the minimum legislative environmental standards or have any juridical process ongoing concerning environmental protection, animal welfare, labour protection or other relevant legislation.

c. The measures undertaken to reduce nutrient emissions should be innovative or even “extraordinary” with reference to national context and standard. The nominee(s) should be able to be demonstrate the effect of these measures on reducing eutrophication.This means that the farmer:
  1. may have invented, tested or practiced his/her own successful measures to reduce nutrient emissions and can demonstrate the benefits of this.
  2. might be using conventional, well proven measures but applying them in a large scale.
  3. may be able to measure the effects – or – be somewhat of a pioneer in his/her area for a new technique which is promising but not yet able to be measured.
  4. might not fit in perfectly to any of the criteria above but is a good ambassador for applying effective methods to reducing nutrient emissions from their farm