Armenia and the Caucasus

WWF has identified the Caucasus as one of ecoregions globally outstanding for biodiversity. Historically interpreted as the isthmus between the Black and Caspian seas, the Caucasus ecoregion covers a total area of 580,000 km, including the nations of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, the North Caucasus portion of the Russian Federation, Northeastern Turkey, and part of Northwestern Iran. The total population is approximately 34,7 million.

Armenia occupies only 6.7% of the Caucasus territory but shelters more than 3,500 species of wild-growing vascular plants, or over half the wealth of the Caucasus Ecoregion’s flora (about 6,000 species total).
© WWF Armenia
	© WWF-Armenia
Map of Protected Areas of Armenia
© WWF-Armenia

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Donate to WWF

Your support will help us build a future where humans live in harmony with nature.

Enter Yes if you accept the terms and conditions
Enter Yes if you accept the terms and conditions