Leaders for a Living

Bolivia LLPs 2014 rel=

WWF Leaders for a Living Planet Award

“Achieving conservation success is almost always the result of the actions and inspiration of one or more individuals who choose to make a personal difference and inspire others to join them. These people may be catalysts for much larger conservation action ─ way beyond their expectations or the scope of their original intentions. WWF believes that it is only through such ambitious, cooperative and inspirational actions that we can halt the destruction of the natural world and achieve a world where people live in harmony with nature”. WWF International Director General Jim Leape
WWF’s Leaders for a Living Planet award aims to recognize the individuals who make a significant personal contribution to the conservation of the natural world and sustainable development. WWF publicly celebrates these individuals and their achievements to profile their environmental leadership and the inspiring example they show to others. Exceptionally, this award can be made to an organization, but then the award is made to the person representing the organization.

The award is symbolic. It enables WWF to congratulate individuals and their achievements, together with the government, company, community or organization they represent, and to encourage further such action.

The Leaders for a Living Planet award is represented by a certificate signed by the President or Director General of WWF International, or senior WWF officer if appropriate, and is presented by a senior WWF official at a public event to profile the achievement. The purpose of the event is to thank people making such important commitments. Such events are important opportunities for showing the larger conservation picture, for inspiring others and recognizing the many stakeholders and donors who play key roles in making such actions happen, of strengthening relationships with partners to build a team approach to conservation, and for mobilising powerful new conservation commitments.

Over 100 such awards have been made since 2000, recognizing a wide variety of initiatives. These range from local actions to protect wildlife to the leadership of government ministers and the wives of heads of state to achieve specific conservation goals such as sustainable fisheries and new protected areas. Recent high level recipients include Kofi Annan, the former UN Secretary-General, the Minister of Fisheries of Norway the Vice-Premier of China and the Ministers of Water Affairs of France, Togo and Benin.

The actions of the people recognized as Leaders for a Living Planet are inspiring examples of environmental leadership and demonstrate personal responsibility to protect the environment. These actions represent an important contribution to the achievement of WWF’s global conservation priority goals. When added together, multiplied and magnified, these actions make a major contribution to secure the status of our living world ─ for current and future generations.

A representative sample of High level Recipients of WWF's LLP Award

 / ©: WWF Hungary
2014 - Burunge WMA - Babati District (Tanzania)
2014 - Ikona WMA - Serengeti District (Tanzania)
2011 - Mr Roko Zamic (Slovenia)
2011 - Mr Oliver Dulic (Serbia)
2011 - Mr Sandar Fazecas (Hungary)
2011 - Mr Bozo Biskupic (Croatia)
2011 - Mr Nikolaus Berlakovich (Austria)
2011 - Mr Adelino Queta (Guinea Bissau)
2010 - Dr Patricia Gandini (Argentina)
2010 - Mr Hang Seng (China)
2009 - Mr Rupert Howes (Global)
2009 - Ms Helga Pedersen (Norway)
2008 - H.E. Kofi Annan (Global)
2006 - Mr Wang Min (China)
2005 - Mdm Viviane Wade (Senegal)
2005 - Dr VAsily Alekseev (Russia)
2005 - Mr Hun Sen (Cambodia)
2005 - Mr Leoncio Alvarez Jefe (Peru)
2005 - Mr Alexey Lebed (Russia)
2004 - Mr Valli Moosa (South Africa)
2004 - Mr Rodin Rajaonahsoa (Magadascar)
2003 - Mr Zhu Muju Vice (China)
2003 - Hon David Kemp (Australia)
2002 - Mr John Kachamila (Mozambique)
2002 - Mr Aires Baptista Ali (Mozambique)

WWF Award for Tanzania’s Wildlife Management Areas

Tanzania LLP 2014 / ©: @WWF
WWF has awarded its prestigious Leaders for a Living Planet award to Tanzania’s Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) for helping mobilise communities to manage their local environment and resources to improve conservation of wildlife and habitats, forests and freshwater. At a colourful ceremony in Burunge WMA in July, WWF International President Yolanda Kakabadse praised the WMA scheme which also promotes rural development and training in governance. Since 2005, 19 WMAs have been established, serving 146 villages and 400,000 people, and covering 2, 8 million ha – 3% of Tanzania – mostly adjacent to high value protected areas. The US$1 million annual income from tourism mostly goes to the local communities running the WMAs. A further 20 WMAs area are awaiting recognition.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Donate to WWF

Your support will help us build a future where humans live in harmony with nature.