Our regional scope

WWF-EASRPO is defined by 6 countries: Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Since the early 1960s, WWF's appraoch in the region has shifted over the years from financing isolated projects, supporting flagship species protection and protected areas work - mostly executed by other conservation organiztions - to ecosystem based, landscape-level investments and an integrated view of conservation.

Despite the richness of this vast sub-region, daunting challenges exist. There is the sheer geographical scale, huge population growth, poor governance/legislation, climate change and over-exploitation of natural resources to feed rapidly increasing foreign and national demands. The region is one of the most vulnerable to climate change and climate variability; a challenge further aggravated by limited capacity to adequately adapt to the changes.

Ten years after the endorsement of the UN Millennium Development Goals, none of the six countries of the sub-region have made any significant progress towards Goal 7 on environmental sustainability. More importantly, the attitude towards natural resource management still heavily focuses on exploitative use. If any meaningful measurable success is to take root, natural resources must increasingly be views as socioeconomic capital.

WWF’s new integrated strategic plan for eastern and southern Africa focuses on delivering the following over the next five years:
  • Improved conservation delivery at a scale that matters
  • Empowered country offices with clear roles and responsibilities
  • Improved governance, credibility, integrity and accountability
  • Harmonized, aligned and coordinated interactions within WWF and other strategic partners.
  • Increased cost-efficiency and reduced transaction costs
Conservation issues in the WWF-ESARPO region / ©: WWF-ESARPO

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Donate to WWF

Your support will help us build a future where humans live in harmony with nature.