Species Conservation in the Eastern Himalayas

Posted on 29 September 2011  | 
The Eastern Himalayas is known for its rich biodiversity, which includes thousands of different species: 10,000 plants, 977 birds, 300 mammals, 269 fresh water fish, 176 reptiles and 105 amphibians. It is also home to a number of the worlds most iconic species: tigers, elephants, rhinos, red pandas and snow leopards.

However, many of these species are now threatened as a result of habitat loss, poaching, unsustainable trade and human-wildlife conflict. Protecting these threatened species has and remains and integral part of WWF's work in the Eastern Himalayas...
Species Conservation in the Eastern Himalayas
© WWF Living Himalayas Enlarge

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required