Himalayas | WWF


View of the Everest massif from the Singalila hills from a distance of about 150 Kilometers. From left to right: Mount Lhotse, Mount Everest, and Mount Makalu Sikkim, India.

The abode of snow

The Himalayan mountain system is the geographical divide that separates the Indian subcontinent from Central Asia. It was formed as a result of continental collision between the Indo-Australian and the Eurasian tectonic plates, millions of years ago.

Where & Area
It extends over 5 nations: Bhutan, China, India, Nepal and Pakistan and forms a massive arc of 2,500 kilometres, from west to east. The mountain system can be classified, from north to south, into 4 parallel longitudinal belts: Shivaliks, Himachal, Himadri, and the Trans Himalayas.

Consisting of a series of parallel and converging ranges, it is the highest mountain range in the world and is home to 14 of the world’s highest peaks including Mount Everest (8,850 metres/29,035 ft).

Due to its extreme climate and challenging landscape, it is fast becoming one of the most visited adventure destinations of the world.

The Himalayas are not just a geographical feature, but they also have great inspirational value. It is said that meditating on the Himalayas brings liberation in the form of true knowledge.

Mount Everest (8848 meters), Nepal. 
Mount Everest (8848 meters), Nepal.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Donate to WWF

Your support will help us build a future where humans live in harmony with nature.

Enter Yes if you accept the terms and conditions
Enter Yes if you accept the terms and conditions