Niagara Falls

Tourists enjoying the magnificent view of the Niagara Falls. rel=
Tourists enjoying the magnificent view of the Niagara Falls.
© Steve & Tanja

One of the world's biggest and greatest waterfalls

The Niagara Falls are comprised of 3 separate waterfalls on the Niagara river: the Horseshoe Falls, the American Falls, and the Bridal Veil Falls.

It is located in eastern North America, on the United States and Canadian border.

Originally, 1,32,490 cubic metres (or 35,000,000 gallons) of water roared over the edge of the Niagara Falls per minute. Half of this amount has now been diverted for hydroelectric power by the governments of both Canada and the United States, making this region the largest producer of hydroelectric power in the world.

The Niagara Falls is the second largest waterfall of its type in the world after the Victoria Falls in South Africa. Known as the 'honeymoon capital of the world', it attracts more than 12 million tourists each year.

On October 24 1901, Annie Edson Taylor, a 63 year old widow, became the first person to tumble down the falls in a barrel!

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
$(document).ready(function(){ $(".colorbox").colorbox({maxWidth: "90%", maxHeight: "90%", onComplete: function(e){}}); var r=0, dir=true; $("#donationtab").click(function() { if (dir) loadDonateTabData(); dir = !dir; r = dir? -200 : 0; $(this).stop().animate({right: r+'px'}, 500); }); }); function showImgPopup(id) { $("a[id='" + id + "']").colorbox({open:true}); }