Eurasian lynx (<i>Lynx lynx</i>). rel=
Eurasian lynx (Lynx lynx).
© Sanchez & Lope / WWF

The World's Most Endangered Feline Species

A lynx is a medium-sized wild cat found throughout the Northern hemisphere. The colour of the body varies from light brown to grey and is occasionally marked with dark brown spots, especially on the limbs. They range about 5 kg (11 lb) (roughly the size of a large domestic cat) up to about 30 kg (66 lb).

There are 4 species of lynx: Lynx lynx (Eurasian Lynx), Lynx canadensis (Canadian Lynx), Lynx pardinus (Iberian Lynx, living in the Mediterranean region) and Lynx rufus (Bobcat, living in North America). All lynxes have small heads, tufted ears, and heavy bodies with long legs and short tails. They are primarily terrestrial but can also climb trees.
The Eurasian lynx is the largest of the 4 species and is the 3rd largest predator in Europe, after the brown bear and the wolf.

Lynx haunt remote forests of North America, Europe and Asia. They have a beautiful thick fur which protects them from the frigid winters. Their large paws are also furry and hit the ground with a spreading toe motion, providing a natural snowshoe. All lynx are skilled hunters that make use of acute hearing (the tufts on their ears are a hearing aid) and eyesight so strong they can spot a mouse 75 m (250 ft) away.

Your chances of seeing one in the wild
Iberian lynx may soon be the first cat species to become extinct. The species is classified by IUCN as the world's most endangered feline species. Habitat loss and degradation, as well as the disappearance of food sources (rabbits) are contributing to this decline. Today, there are no more than 38 breeding female Iberian lynx in the wild.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Donate to WWF

Your support will help us build a future where humans live in harmony with nature.

Enter Yes if you accept the terms and conditions
Enter Yes if you accept the terms and conditions