WWF joins thousands in Durban march as negotiators stall on climate change talks



Posted on 04 December 2011  | 
Durban, South Africa: As the first week of the United Nations climate change talks come to an end, WWF joined thousands of citizens on Saturday from around the world in Durban, South Africa to make a public statement to negotiators and global leaders that delaying action on climate change is unacceptable.

Tasneem Essop, head of international climate strategy from WWF said:

“Today’s march was an amazing moment of solidarity that showed people want real action from their governments on climate change – not just talk. The will of the people is strong. The problem is that the will of our leaders is weak.

“After six days of talks, we seem to be moving backward, not forward. It’s time for governments to bravely stand side-by-side with their citizens. The stakes are enormous as we fight to secure enough food, water and energy for all.”

Essop comment on the status of negotiation texts:

“The current state of the negotiating text is a reflection that the main political issues in the negotiations are still unresolved. The negotiators must continue to work to try and reach as much agreement as possible on key issues, including the issue of legal form, so that when heads of state and ministers arrive on Monday, they can focus on the big unresolved issues. These leaders are going to need to come with a huge bag of political will and a sense of responsibility in order to ensure that we have something to show for these two weeks of round-the-clock negotiations.”

What WWF wants out of negotiators in Durban:
  • The Cancun agreements must be implemented.
  • Must commit to a second commitment period for the Kyoto Protocol.
  • Lay the foundation for negotiating a legally binding global agreement that includes all countries by 2015.
  • Create the Global Climate Fund and let the money flow.
  • Use the opportunity of COP 17 to increase ambition to cut greenhouse gas emissions.
Watch the video of WWF in the march: 



WWF OFFICAL SPOKESPEOPLE:
  • Jim Leape, Director General, WWF International
  • Samantha Smith, Leader WWF’s Global Climate and Energy Initiative
  • Tasneem Essop, Head of international climate strategy, WWF Global Climate and Energy Initiative

We also have specific spokespeople on REDD+, adaptation, finance, emission reductions, and on African climate issues.



FOR INTERVIEWS OR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT

Ian Morrison, ian.morrison@wwfus.org, +27-76-211-3097 or +1(202) 372-6373
Steve Ertel, steve.ertel@wwfus.org, +27-79-284-4268 or +1(202) 460-4641
Lang Banks, lbanks@wwfscotland.org.uk, +27-76-829-4173 or +44 7919 961961
Caroline Behringer, caroline.behringer@wwfus.org, +27-71-322-3810 or +1(202) 344-0852
Quathar Jacobs, qjacobs@wwf.org.za, +27-82-538-7710
Florence Anouboudem Tsobgine, FAnouboudem@wwfcarpo.org, +27 720248704,
Kimunya Mugo, kmugo@wwfesarpo.org, +27 76 4495795
Martina Lippuner, mlippuner@wwf.panda.org, +27 729209392
“Today’s march was an amazing moment of solidarity that showed people want real action from their governments on climate change – not just talk. The will of the people is strong. The problem is that the will of our leaders is weak
“Today’s march was an amazing moment of solidarity that showed people want real action from their governments on climate change – not just talk. The will of the people is strong. The problem is that the will of our leaders is weak" Tasneem Essop.
© WWF Enlarge

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required